Award Distribution Ceremony under Swachh Bharat Mission

Award Distribution Ceremony under Swachh Bharat Mission

Rajasthan takes concrete steps to speed up Swachh Bharat Mission

To implement Swachh Bharat Mission (SBM) effectively in Rajasthan, a Special Cleanliness Drive was organised by Local Self Government Department of the State Government from 9 to 27 March 2015, under Swachh Bharat Mission in which all the ULBs, NGOs / RWAs actively participated to fulfil the components of SBM.

Various initiatives were undertaken to generate awareness through IEC, rallies, FM radio jingles, hoardings, etc. All ULBs / cities were assessed on the basis of some performance indicators viz. Daily reporting, photographs uploading on Facebook page, innovation, creating awareness for Individual Household Latrines, collector’s recommendation, compiled report, etc. An Award Distribution Ceremony and Review Meeting were organised on 11 May 2015, at the state level. Rajasthan Minister for Urban Development, Housing and Local Self Government, Rajpal Singh Shekhawat, inaugurated the function and distributed the awards to ULBs and NGOs for their remarkable performance, in the presence of Principal Secretary, LSG, Dr Manjit Singh and Director-cum-Joint Secretary, Purushottam Biyani. On an overall performance basis, Jodhpur City was nominated as ‘Best City: Swachh Ratna’ of the state. Udaipur Nagar Nigam and Bharatpur Nagar Nigam stood 2nd and 3rd among municipal corporations. Under the category of Municipal Councils, Pali stood first, Bhilwara second, Banswara and Jhalawar third. Among the Municipal Boards, Pratapnagar and  alpura stood first, Taranagar and Bhadra second and Bagru third. All the ULB winners were awarded with a trophy, a certificate and cash prizes, with guidelines for using the cash prize under IEC component of SBM. Various NGOs / RWAs and other stakeholders like Centre For Advocacy and Research, Helping Hand, Rotary Club Green, Shruti Foundation, Pulkit academy, etc. were also awarded with appreciation certificates for their initiatives and performance under Special Cleanliness Drive.

The Awards Distribution was followed by review meeting chaired by Principal Secretary, Dr Manjit Singh along with Director cum Joint Secretary, Purushottam Biyani in which the progress of SBM in all the ULBs was reviewed and all the components of SBM viz. IHHL, Solid waste management, community and public toilets, IEC and capacity-building were discussed in detail. Targets, action plan and road map for the implementation of SBM for the year 2015-16 were also discussed in the meeting.

Award Distribution Ceremony under Swachh Bharat Mission
: : Visits count
Webpage Last Updated on : Jan 17, 2019